UP President Danilo L. Concepcion will host the latest batch of donors of Professorial Chairs in Engineering on August 14, 2019, Wednesday, 10 AM at the Quezon Hall Executive Board Room. UPCOE Dean Rizalinda L. de Leon and UPERDFI President Rico Trinidad will hand over the commemorative sundial plaques to the seven donors and their representatives. Professors who received the inaugural chair awards in 2018, in addition to some Trustees and Advisers, will also attend.

Donors of Professorial Chairs awarded in 2018:

Ms. Carmen V.F. Seriña for the Fernando N. Seriña Professorial Chair in Mechanical Engineering
Menchu Seriña is the widow of Andy Seriña (ME ’71) and established the Chair for her late husband in July 2018. She also donated for the development of the ES 101 Workbook to be piloted in AY 2019-20. Aside from numerous socio-civic activities, she runs the operations of VantageOne Financing Corporation, as company that was set up by Andy.

Dr. Olegario G. Villoria, Jr. for the Dr. Olegario G. Villoria, Jr. Professorial Chair in Transportation and Logistics Management
Jun Villoria is a BS Industrial Engineering ’79 alumnus who received a PhD in Civil Engineering (Transportation and Logistics) from the Ohio State University, and also took the Special Program for Urban and Regional Studies at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Prior to moving to the USA in 1999, he was a Senior Lecturer at the UP Department of Industrial Engineering and Operations Research (DIEOR), an Associate Professor at the School of Urban and Regional Planning (SURP) and an Affiliate Faculty at the National Center for Transportation Studies (NCTS). He is working with a major logistics company in the USA.

Engr. Jose Edgar Manrique for the Jose Edgar Manrique Professorial Chair in Industrial Engineering
Ed Manrique is a BS IE ’69 alumnus with an MS in Industrial and Systems Engineering from the Viterbi School of Engineering, University of Southern California. After a couple of years with the UP DIEOR Faculty, he migrated to the US and established a solid career in manufacturing and operations management with Toyota North America Operations. Retiring after 40 years, his last position being General Manager of a Manufacturing Division, he is now a senior consultant with LEAN Consulting Associates based in California.

Engr. Edgardo P. Kasilag II of AMH Philippines, Inc. for the AMH Philippines, Inc. Professorial Chair in Engineering
AMH Philippines, Inc. is an employee-owned, academe-linked, Filipino engineering consulting company based in the UP Diliman Campus. AMH Philippines, Inc. is led by Engr. Edgardo P. Kasilag II (CE ’94), President, UPERDFI Member Engr. Rodolfo C. Salazar (ME ’63), Board Treasurer and UPERDFI Trustee Engr. Edgardo G. Atanacio (IE ’76), Independent Director. Several retired and active UPCOE faculty are associates in AMH.

Engr. Michael Allan E. Sicat III of M.E. Sicat Construction, Inc. the M.E. Sicat Construction Professorial Chair in Engineering
Mike Sicat is a BS CE ’93 alumnus and a UPERDFI member. He is the founder and president of M.E. Sicat Construction, Inc., a leading and AAA certified contractor offering engineering solutions across a wide spectrum of disciplines. M.E. Sicat Construction also sponsors the annual Academic Excellence Award in Construction Engineering in the Institute of Civil Engineering.

Donors of Professorial Chairs to be awarded starting 2019:

Engr. Benedict T. Laogan of Longridge Construction, Inc. for the Longridge Construction, Inc. Professorial Chair in Civil Engineering
Longridge Construction, Inc. was founded by its president and UPERDFI member Engr. Benedict T. Laogan (BS CE ’94, mcl), who has an MSCE from University College London. The company also donated to the equipping of the UP Institute of Civil Engineering (UP ICE) Fire Laboratory, sponsored ten (10) thesis support grants to CE seniors, and provided funding to the winning CE delegates to the 2019 ACI Competition.

Mr. Alex Sy Sun Eng of the Diliman Integrated Technology Consultancy, Inc. (DITCI) for the DITCI Professorial Chair in Engineering
The DITCI is an engineering consulting firm based in UP Diliman, incorporated by UP Engineering professors and some UPERDFI members (in their personal capacity). It is led by UPERDFI Chairman Engr. Alex Sy as Chairman and UPERDFI Member Dr. Aura Matias as President and General Manager.

The UP College of Engineering is grateful to our donors for their generous support!

Categories: Announcement