UPERDFI Member and former UPCOE Dean Aura Matias (IE ‘82) established the Dr. Maria Aura Teodora Castillo Matias DIEOR Golden Jubilee Professorial Chair in Human Factors and Ergonomics, the fifth chair under President Ferdz dela Cruz’s term and the 10th chair in 2020. Prior to this, US-based alumnus Elzar “Dodjie” Simon (IE ‘85) set up the Elzar Lorenzana Simon DIEOR Golden Jubilee Professorial Chair in Artificial Intelligence and Data Science, with the virtual signing done during his Webinar on July 25. Beamed from his US residence, the event was sponsored by UP Industrial Engineering Alumni Association to kick off the 50 years of the establishment of DIEOR in March 1971. Member Ricky Peña is the current UPIEAA President.

In addition to his kickstart funding for the High Performance Computing Project, Philippine IT pioneer and former COMELEC Commissioner Augusto Lagman (ME ‘61) also established the Lagman UP Engineers Professorial Chair in honor of his father Aurelio Lagman (ME ‘28) and older brother Aurelio Lagman, Jr. (ME ‘53).

Daniel Reyes (EE ‘67), who distinguished himself in the field of computer components design and manufacturing in the USA, set up chairs in memory of his beloved parents Daniel Chan Dy Reyes and Lodevina Baclig Reyes. He also donated to the UPCOE Laptop Drive and the HPC Project, earning the moniker “Grand Slam donor”.

UPERDFI President Ferdz de la Cruz, Treasurer Ega Atanacio and Executive Director Tito Aliga are working with UPCOE Dean Ferdinand Manegdeg in firming up the 2020 roster, vetting professorial chairs with candidate awardees.

Categories: Feature