Makati City, Philippines – UPERDFI held a Donor Recognition and Thanksgiving Dinner on February 7, 2024, at the Makati Sports Club to honor and appreciate those who have supported the Foundation over the years up to 2023.

Caption: (L-R) UP President Angelo A. Jimenez honors Legacy Donors Isidro A. Consunji; Maria Banatao, Diosdado Banatao; Dr. Magdaleno B. Albarracin, Jr.; Denis T. Carpio; Editha Juinio Atienza, Jennifer Yang, Marina Juinio Yang (Family of Dean Alfredo L. Juinio and Prof. Alfredo B. Juinio, Jr.), Alex Sy Sun Eng; Christianne Medina (Uratex), Paulo Arias (Pilipinas Shell Corporation); with UPERDFI Executive Director Alfonso A. Aliga, Jr.

UPERDFI recognized the top ten donors since 1972 or “Legacy Donors” for their steadfast commitment and significant contributions in fostering growth and success of the UPERDFI programs in support of the UP College of Engineering. They included Dr. Magdaleno B. Albarracin, Jr., Isidro A. Consunji, Diosdado and Maria Banatao, Manuel V. Pangilinan, Pilipinas Shell Corporation, Accenture, Family of Dean Alfredo L. Juinio and Prof. Alfredo B. Juinio, Jr., Alex Sy Sun Eng, Multiflex RNC Philippines Corporation (Uratex) and Denis T. Carpio.

UPERDFI also recognized the generous donors from December 2022 to November 2023, and the individuals who have rendered unwavering service to the Foundation through the years, led by former DOST Secretary Fortunato de la Peña who has been serving as an officer and adviser for 40 years.

The event was graced by the presence of former Prime Minister Cesar E. A. Virata, Department of Energy Undersecretary Rowena Cristina Guevara, BARMM Parliament Member Don Mustapha Loong, former Department of Public Works and Highways Secretary Rogelio L. Singson, UP College of Engineering Dean Maria Antonia Tanchuling, and Philippine Council for NGO Certification Executive Director Felix Tonog, alongside UPERDFI members and honored guests.

On behalf of the donors, former UPERDFI Chairman and current Adviser Dr. Magdaleno B. Albarracin, Jr. accepted the recognition. UPERDFI Chairman Alex Sy Sun Eng, President Rowena Torres-Ordoñez, Executive Director Alfonso A. Aliga, Jr., Membership Committee Chairman Valentin Reyes and Past President Rafael Nestor V. Mantaring delivered the Thanksgiving Message, Opening Remarks, Welcome Message, Closing Remarks and Invocation, respectively.

UP President Angelo Jimenez gave an impassioned message saying that the country faces major challenges, and he highlighted that engineers could make the biggest impact in defining solutions and implementing them.

The Foundation is grateful for the commitment of our donors, members, and partners to engineering a better Philippines.

The following comprise our generous donors for donations made from December 2022 to November 2023:

Platinum Donors

  1. Magdaleno B. Albarracin Jr.
  2. Fluor Daniel, Inc. – Philippines
  3. GT Foundation, Inc.
  4. Megaworld Foundation, Inc.
  5. DMCI Project Developers, Inc. (DMCI Homes)
  6. SEM-CALACA Power Corporation and Southwest Luzon Power Generation Corporation
  7. Mundo Builders, Inc.

Gold Donors

  1. Craft Research Technologies, Inc.
  2. DMCI Project Developers, Inc. (DMCI Homes)
  3. PHINMA Foundation, Inc.
  4. Multiflex RNC Philippines Corporation (URATEX)
  5. The Murata Science Foundation

Silver Donors

  1. Renato R. Bello
  2. Manuel R. Bulaong, Jr.
  3. Rosario S. Calderon and Brenton Calderon Marrelli
  4. Jerome H. Cainglet
  5. Francis Chua
  6. Jennifer Lynn Cua
  7. Nestor M. Felicio
  8. Ma. Eloisa N. Francisco
  9. Michael V. Gonzalez
  10. Ronaldo S. Ison
  11. Yin Yong Lao
  12. Jose Edgar Manrique
  13. Ma. Aura Teodora Castillo Matias
  14. Manuel V. Pangilinan
  15. Simon Sandoval
  16. Carmen V.F. Seriña
  17. Elzar Lorenzana Simon
  18. Stephen D. Sy
  19. Maria Bella Tan
  20. Antonio Tanchuling, Jr.
  21. Apolonio & Lorna Yson
  22. Felicidad Zafra Reyes
  23. Alvarez Foundation Philippines
  24. AMH Philippines, Inc.
  25. Analog Devices Gen. Trias, Inc.
  26. ANTA Construction Corporation
  27. Apex Mining Co., Inc.
  28. Borland Development Corporation
  29. Brian Tan Engineering Consultancy Services
  30. CleanTech Foundation, Inc.
  31. DCCD Engineering Corporation
  32. Focus Global Inc.
  33. Globe Telecom, Inc.
  34. Houston Hydrotech Products & Systems, Inc.
  35. Huawei Technologies Philippines, Inc.
  36. JCV & Associates Project Management and Development, Inc.
  37. Kolor Furniture, Inc.
  38. Longridge Construction, Inc.
  39. Maynilad Water Services, Inc.
  40. One Meralco Power Foundation, Inc.
  41. Orchards of the Abba Corporation
  42. People’s Asia Pacific Construction Corporation
  43. PetroEnergy Resources Corporation
  44. Philippine Society for Soil Mechanics and Geotechnical Engineering, Inc.
  45. PLDT-Smart Foundation, Inc.
  46. Segovia & Co., Inc.
  47. SteelAsia Foundation, Inc.
  48. UP Alumni Association of British Columbia

Bronze Donors

  1. Cenon M. Carolino
  2. Francis C. Felizardo
  3. Emmanuel T. Manlapig
  4. Patrick M. Ostrea
  5. ACE Electronic Technology, Inc.
  6. Denso Ten Solutions Philippines Corporation
  7. Foxmont Advisory Services Inc.
  8. J. Amado Araneta Foundation, Inc.
  • PGA Earth Structure Solutions Inc.
  • Universal Robina Corporation
  • UP Alumni Association of Greater Los Angeles Area
  • UP Alumni in Minnesota


  1. Ferdinand M. Dela Cruz
  2. Renato T. Goco
  3. Elena Laguinia
  4. Family of Manuel and Carmen Magno
  5. Sherwin O
  6. PMC-MMPRC Foundation, Inc. (Atty. Raul C. Villanueva)
  7. Ricardo Rodriguez
  8. Cesar G. Romero
  9. Fernand A. Tansingco
  10. Dr. Rowena Torres-Ordoñez

Distinguished Service Awards

  1. Fortunato T. de la Peña
  2. Editha Juinio Atienza
  3. Baby Nelly E. Manalo
  4. Alfonso A. Aliga, Jr.

Project Leader of the Year – Magdaleno R. Vasquez, Jr.

Categories: Feature