UPERDFI conducted the first hybrid Annual General Membership Meeting on May 17, 2023 at the National Engineering Center and via zoom. UP College of Engineering Dean Tonette Tanchuling, UPERDFI President Chicho Mantaring and Executive Director Tito Aliga delivered their reports to the members. Chairman Alex Sy closed the meeting with a resounding call for more active participation in generating support for the College and engineering projects that have societal impact.

We express our heartfelt thanks to our member Dr. Francis Chua for sponsoring the sumptuous lunch served by Cravings.

The members acknowledged the leadership and service of outgoing Trustees who served for three years: President Rafael Nestor V. Mantaring, CorSec Robert O. Minguez II, Finance Committee chairman Michael V. Gonzalez, and Victor N. Villagracia, who spearheaded the fund-raising for the High Performance Computing Project.

UPERDFI welcomed 21 new members to the fold and elected six trustees during the meeting – Angelito D. Bermudo, Frederick D. Chua, Jose Jerome R. Pascual III, Gilbert Santa Maria, Guillermo Q. Tabios III and Rowena Torres-Ordoñez.

In the ensuing Organizational Board of Trustees meeting on May 25, 2023, the Board elected the following officers to lead the Foundation this 2023-24 term:

  • Chairman – Alex Sy Sun Eng (re-elected)
  • President – Rowena Torres-Ordoñez
  • Vice President – Angelito D. Bermudo
  • Corporate Secretary – Frederick D. Chua
  • Treasurer – Guillermo Q. Tabios III (re-elected)

The Board also re-appointed members Editha Juinio Atienza as Comptroller and Alfonso A. Aliga, Jr. as Executive Director.

In a special meeting on June 14, 2023, the Board designated the following committee chairmen:

  • Resource Generation – Alex Sy
  • Membership – Val Reyes
  • Innovation – Eric Paringit; Chicho Mantaring (co-chairman)
  • Governance – Noly Torres
  • Finance – Jeng Pascual
  • Audit – Fred Chua; Bong Minguez (co-chairman)

The 2022-23 committee members have been requested to continue their involvement, and other members are encouraged to volunteer as members of the various committees. They can email their intention to our ED Tito Aliga or Deputy ED Norika Ishikawa at info@uperdfi.org.

With all hands on deck, UPERDFI’s 52nd year, and beyond, will surely be productive and meaningful in ENGINEERING A BETTER PHILIPPINES.

Categories: News